If an employee elects to go ‘On Call’ for a job, it is assumed that they have agreed to work if needed. Supervisors or managers can set the number of ‘on call’ slots to a maximum as employees could be paid a premium for being ‘on call’. The number of slots available for any job can be set against: job type, schedule, sub-group or individual job.
With the ‘On Call List’ employees can access available job slots within the system. These slots will only be visible if the employee qualifies to work the available shift, matching job type rules, constraints or any other data requirement. When an employee accesses the on call list all slots on offer are re-assessed against the employee in terms of the employee’s own availability, job type rules and schedule constraints to determine which slots to show to the employee.
When an employee accepts a Job slot, they can become unavailable for other shifts that they may normally qualify for and will no longer display on the on call board. Employees can view a listing of all slots they are currently on. They can also remove themselves from any slots and free up a seat on the on call list. Deadlines can be set in preferences so that employees can’t remove themselves from the on call list close to the job start time, for example 24 hours.